26/6/96

Ganymede

 

Ganymede, one of Jupiter’s moons, taken from the Galileo spacecraft on this day.

 

Last geog. Lesson Miss A told me to do a geography rap. DW thought it was really funny. I did it in form time- she was tutoring instead of Mr D. (Standing in for my actual form tutor, who was off sick.) I wrote it last night at around 10pm. ER (girl in my form) wants me to date her and take her to a restaurant. England lost Euro 96- I never thought that would happen! << SARCASTIC REMARK

 

I am sleeping in my schoolclothes and I haven’t been to the bathroom in ages!

 

There was only one black guy and only one Asian guy in my school. Rap music was considered, as one of my friends put it, “some black bastard talking a load of crap.” But I was an angry liguiphile at the age of 13, so rap struck a huge chord with me, even though I didn’t understand much of it. The more you heard words like “baller” and “Ill” and “fly”, the more you get to grips with this alternate dialect- something almost-foriegn, but totally marketable. Now look at the music charts today. At least 10 of the top 40 are either black performers or are songs with rap verses in them. I was the only person in the school with an open interest in rap.

Leave a Reply

