6/12/96

Roypic

This is weird. My diary states 6th December as being a midweek day. I write that I was back in the next day. But this date was a Friday. In ’96 I didn’t have a computer in the room with the date on it. My watch may have been set wrong. I didn’t have a video recorder at this time. So checking  the date was HARD work. Who knows what day this was. Anyway, on the 6th, singer of Pretty Woman Roy Orbison died. A little part of me did too.

 

Before Science, HC said, “do you want my fone number?”

 

I said, “I think I’ve already got it.” I took out my hwk (homework) diary on the last few pages and said, is it No.8?”

 

She looked at it and said: “No, that’s my old one. This is my new one.” She wrote a number on the side of the page. “Ring me up tonight.”

 

OK.”

 

Later in the lesson she said that she was going to GH2’s house and the phone number was GH2’s. I was to ask for GH2 and she would get HC.

 

I got home and didn’t ring because I knew they wouldn’t be in yet- GH2 lives in Manchester. Mum came home so I couldn’t ring then- I don’t want her to know about it. I went out to the hospital to see Grandad and to get some shopping incl. New school shoes.

 

I got home and realised HC would have left GH2’s house by that time. I hope to all the gods (including HC) that she doesn’t dump me tomorrow.

 

So, we have a socially retarded 14-year-old literally idolising a bimbo. She eventually decides to “go out” with him, thus taking him for a mug. He doesn’t phone because he’s busy seeing his dying grandfather in hospital. I wonder what will happen…

 

Leave a Reply

