6/1/97

 

 

Back to school!

 

NOT a good start.

 

Mr D says I’ve done crap in the bio test, Spud hates me, SS said, “Did you get a train set for Xmas?” proving that she think I’m stupid. AQ hasn’t changed a bit- he still does my head in. I’ve just found a toenail clipping in bed. I bought Aliens Omnibus book 2 after school. In RE Mr G says if we do crap in the test we might get moved down. It’s the only lesson that all three musketeers are in with me for.

 

 

When I went into Oldham I forgot to look at CDs in HMV.

 

My mum doesn’t approve of me reading SciFi. She says it influences my stories. BOLLOCKS!

 

Dad knows I keep my private stuff with this.

 

Mrs R says my IS car sales project is crap. I wrote what we did, but not in enough detail, especially when we wrote why and how. The programs we used- how did we use them? That’s what I should have put.

 

 

This is a list of all the things I’ve done crap at since september.

 

PHYSICS

BIOLOGY

I.S.

MATHS

ENGLISH

 

CHEMISTRY

HIDING THIS FROM DAD

KEEPING MY ROOM TIDY

KEEPING MY MUM OUT OF MY ROOM

NOT NEEDING HELP FROM DAD WITH MATHS HOMEWORK

KEEPING GIRLFRIENDS

ENGLISH READING TESTS

BEING BRIGHT AND HAPPY

 

KNOWING WHAT TO DO IN IS

REMEMBERING STUFF FOR TESTS

REVISING

SLEEPING

 

What I didn’t take into account, being 14 and having a learning difficulty, was that… I was 14 and I had a learning difficulty. And I was at an achiever’s school, a “beacon school” that only gave a shit about pupils who would get high grades. If you weren’t one of them, you were nobody. I was nobody. And, of course, the school gave me no real help- just intimidation from teachers when I (repeatedly) got things wrong.

C3961

 

The Aliens spin-off novels, published by Millenium, are awesome and I’m intent on reading another after a 15-year gap. I might not like the franchise as much as I did in my teen days, but I’m willing to take a risk. I actually wrote a SF story for an English project, based on Total Recall, and subsequently got bollocked off my English teacher for it. Hence my mum’s apprehension.

 

So… reading SciFi, writing SciFi stories in school, getting shit off people, failing with girls… It’s all very “George McFly”, isn’t it?!

 

Leave a Reply

